TPE – Knowledge, wisdom and gnosis

I’ve always read a lot on subjects that interests me. I used to read a lot about Greek, Egyptian and Norse mythology when I was a child.

I’m reading quite a bit about the old Norse religion currently.
I’m reading a book (in Norwegian) called “Norse religion: myths, rites and society”. It’s nearly 500 pages. I’m also reading a book (in Norwegian) called “Gods, volvas and shamans: a comparative journey in Greek, Norse and Sami mythology”. I also read now and then in the Eddas.

I think knowledge is important. It tells us who the gods were, and how They were venerated. I think the Heathen lore was once someone’s personal gnosis, which became shared personal gnosis. Heathenry is not a religion of the book, though some treat the lore as if it was scripture, and dismiss UPG (unverified personal gnosis) or SPG (shared personal gnosis) out of hand.

I think modern gnosis is important, because it tells us who the gods are today.
I think the gods can grow and change, and also change Their relationships with Each Other.
I think They still have Their basic personalities, though, but They can gain new aspects.

I’m not a reconstructionist, but a devotional polytheist, so personal gnosis is very important to me on my spiritual path.
Knowledge is also important. Part of my monastic oath, which I took in June last year, is to study and do research. I try to study for about an hour each day.
Wisdom is a tough one. I have more of my life past me, at 48, than in front of me, but I don’t feel very wise. When I was a teenager, I though I knew a lot. Now I know that there is a lot I don’t know.

http://thepaganexperience.com

About Amber Drake

AKA Darkamber.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to TPE – Knowledge, wisdom and gnosis

  1. Ian Elliott says:

    What do UPG and SPG stand for? Is the PG part personal gnosis?

  2. “I think modern gnosis is important, because it tells us who the gods are today.
    I think the gods can grow and change, and also change Their relationships with Each Other.
    I think They still have Their basic personalities, though, but They can gain new aspects.”

    I agree totally. When people argue that something is not in the Eddas or other Norse literature I get really annoyed because they’re only the remnants.

Leave a Reply

