Religion vs Fandom Part II: The Revenge

Food for thought.

Sacred Iceland

I wrote this article back in 2014, and received quite a bit of hostility for it. As a result, I ended up deleting this article rather than continuing to engage in a fruitless debate. However, here we are in 2016, and the “pop-culture pagan” debate is here again. After reading this eloquent article by Hellenic Polytheist, Dver ( http://forestdoor.wordpress.com/2016/05/03/why-we-worship/I decided to resurrect this one.  I’m feeling just a little bit like the scientist nobody wanted to listen to in Dante’s Peak, and that’s not a good thing. 


fc,550x550,white

There’s a part of me that still can’t believe that I’m still even bothering to argue theology with people who are worshipping comic book characters and think that they’re Time Lords, Sailor Scouts, or the reincarnation of Inuyasha, It really is surreal, and my brain still hasn’t quite accepted that this is real-life:

This is the last post I’m planning on ever making…

View original post 2,061 more words

About Amber Drake

AKA Darkamber.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Religion vs Fandom Part II: The Revenge

  1. Ly says:

    I completely agree. People are so afraid of being seen as bigoted that they’re afraid to call a spade a spade.

    If pop culture pagans want to do their thing, fine, but it would be better if they are open about it. Marvel Loki isn’t Norse Loki. Pop culture ‘pagans’ aren’t pagans. They’re marvelites or Disney ites or whatever.

    Personally I think the a lot of these people are cuckoo for cocoa puffs, but that’s just me. :p

  2. Ravew says:

    I strongly disagree with this article, I also think that the author doesn’t really care about what pcp is, he has a limited view of it and only mentions one view of pcp beliefs.
    Many “serious” pagans are pop culture pagans, many pagans who take traditional practices and lore seriously are pop culture pagans.
    There are people who think polytheism is not a real religion, that anyone who believes in Gods and spirits is crazy with weird practices.
    Also I see no super accepting community here, there are bullies, attacks, fights, etc, because of people’s practices, beliefs, gods, if they are lokeans, lgbt, disabled, not white and so on, this imaginary accepting community only appears in blog posts like this complaining about it.

  3. Moon Rouge says:

    Food for thought indeed.
    I bothered to read both articles together, Religion vs Fandom Part I (from July 26th 2014 https://sacrediceland.wordpress.com/2014/07/26/religion-vs-fandom/) and Part II posted re-posted these days.
    I’m not pop culture pagan, or Hiddls fan. That said, in both articles are lines I agree with, and lines I strongly oppose, and some I never thought to think about. Food for thought is good title for both!

  4. I believe that one should use discernment in all things and spirituality evermore! Love the video, this is freaking hilarious.

Leave a Reply

