Scary things that go bump in the night

One of the common things to experience in hypnagogia is sounds: bumps, thuds, the ringing of a telephone or doorbell, low voices mumbling (sounding like a radio next door), and footsteps.
Often it’s just auditory hallucinations – and sometimes it’s not.
The short, sharp or loud sounds always jerk me completely awake, but then I just think: “right, just hearing things” and fall asleep again.

Hearing footsteps can be a bit creepy, but when I force myself awake, I realise that it sounded like footsteps that weren’t going anywhere, and that I just imagined it.
But sometimes the footsteps sounds like they are coming from somewhere distant and getting closer, and there’s a presence. That always frightens me, because I have no idea what might be approaching. I usually force myself awake, and if I start to fall asleep again and hear the footsteps again, I wake myself again. Usually the sound of footsteps stop after a few times.

One time, which I have mentioned in an earlier post, I heard what sounded like the footsteps of someone with a stiff knee, so one foot was dragged along the ground, a “step – drag/shuffle” sound. I decided to let myself slip into half sleep again, thinking that surely Loki would protect me against something bad. It turned out to be Hel coming for a visit.

Last Thursday I heard footsteps that sounded like someone walking with a peg-leg, or a staff or cane. I sensed some kind of presence, and it was quite scary. I forced myself awake, and waited a bit before letting myself fall asleep again. I didn’t hear the footsteps again.

The next night, I heard the same kind of footsteps again, and thought that it sounded like someone walking with a staff, setting it down in time with every other footstep. Step – thud – step – thud… A vague image showed up in my mind of an elderly man with a long, white beard. His face was obscured. He was straight backed and looked fit. He seemed to be wearing a dark blue cloak.
WTF?! Odin??
Whatever/whoever it was absolutely terrified me. I had to fight to wake myself this time, and fight to stay awake; the pull of sleep was strong. I felt like a five year old: “Waaah! Mummy! Scary! Do not want!”
I was so scared to go back to sleep and encounter whatever it was, that I turned on my sunlight lamp so it would work as a night-light, and tucked Boots the teddycat under my arm. That did the trick. No more scary that night.

In my meditation visualisation that evening, I told Loki about the experience:
“Whatever/whoever it was scared the crap out of me!”
Odin
“I had to– what?”
Odin
“…” o.O

At this time of the year, Odin is all over the place with Åsgardsreia*. I’ve heard He likes to check out His blood-brother’s new consorts…

And now I have an image of the Devious Duo sitting and drinking mead, and Odin telling Loki about how He almost made Loki’s little wifey pee her knickers and clutch a stuffed toy like a five year old, and Loki laughing so hard He’s doubled up and can’t breathe…

Boots the teddycat – comforter and protector of children of all ages from nightmares and scary things that go bump in the night.

*************
*Åsgardsreia – similar to “the Wild Hunt”. Possibly from the Norse ásgoðreið, which means “As gods’ race/ride” 

About Amber Drake

AKA Darkamber.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Scary things that go bump in the night

  1. mercydoll says:

    Odin defiantly scares me. He has this calm power that you just can’t mess around. With many Gods I would try to fight off. With Him, I didn’t have a chance.

Leave a Reply

